Character and Level Hand-In

Overall, my opinion on my personal development throughout BAGA 201 and BAGA 202 has been alright.  Not good, not bad but a plain alright.  My problem with both level and character is that I tend to have a ‘if I can do it, I’ll do it now and if I can’t do it, I’ll do it later’ attitude to my workflow.  This is evident in most of the work that I have done throughout the course of this year.

Character

Model_render

Generally, I like the work that has been produced in character.  I feel that the amount of time I spent on it has shown in the quality of both the Princess and Main Character ZBrush models because of the amount of detail that is contained in both.  Unlike level, I spent a long time working on looking at different items of clothing, working on character concept art and making the models which shows in the final models of the characters.

Final_Renders

However, if there is one thing I have to say I dislike about the characters I produced, it would be the texture work on the main character in that it took too long to finally texture the model meaning that I spent more time on that rather than working on other projects.  I think it would be useful to try and get use to making models have a lower topology in ZBrush over the summer break simply because spending weeks just working on one model is not something I want to do next year.  It may also be worth buying ZBrush to ensure I have the program at home for ease of access.

Level 

sneliawn.png

I am quite ashamed and disappointed at how level ended up.  I just felt early on that I couldn’t work on level concept art so I didn’t work on the level, which then lead to me working up until the deadline just texturing the level rather then having it done a week in advance.  This is something I definitely want to improve going into next year.  This is not to mention my lack of level fly-through because of both a lack of time to make the fly-through and a lack of knowledge on how to do the fly-through.

I think putting some time aside to learn perspective and how to photobash may be useful over the summer break.  I should also make time to learn more Unity just to make sure I have some understanding of the program so that next year, I can at least try and have a level done for the end of year show.

Leave a Reply

